Blog · faith · Inspiration · Religious

Promise

Many people are choosing a “word” for the year rather than a resolution. I think it’s a neat idea. I’ve thought about this concept but I couldn’t exactly wrap my mind around a word for the whole year. Our emotions and situations change so much throughout a year that it’s difficult to know what next month or week will bring. I have so many words that are in my heart as the New Year begins. Hope and faith are big ones. Peace and rest are also big ones, the last few years have been utter chaos and my heart and soul longs for peace and rest. As I mulled over these words I came to one conclusion. The one word that I can stand on in 2016 is the word Promise.

FullSizeRender

Promise – a declaration that one will or will not do something; a vow

Promises give us hope.

God’s word is full of promises. Promises of hope, peace and rest. Promises for our lives and our children’s lives. The promise are written for us, but  I don’t always stand on these promises. Not because I don’t believe God’s word, but because I’m human. Day to day it’s easy to forget who we are in Christ. It’s easy to let the disappointments of life fog our memory of what and who God says we are.

I also fail to stand on these promises because I’ve had many broken promises made to me and I’ve broken many to other people. I don’t think people intentionally break promises and fail others, but it happens, and over time we learn that promises are rarely kept. However, regardless of the broken promises that we’ve experienced, we can be assured that God will never fail us. His promises, His covenant remains faithful.

Psalm 89:34- “No, I will not break my covenant; I will not take back one word of what I said.”

IMG_3469

So this year, I will believe God’s promises for my life. I will write them down, hide them in my heart and cherish them in all circumstances.

13 thoughts on “Promise

  1. Pingback: Promise | Be Still

Leave a Reply

